Sports News

17 countries qualify for AFCON 2022


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Saturday, confirmed that 17 countries have qualified for the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations, with one round of qualifying fixtures left.


CAF in a tweet on their official Twitter handle, stated that there were seven slots left to be filled.


The teams that have qualified are: Guinea, Burkina Faso, Comoros, Egypt, Gambia, Gabon, Ghana, Equatorial Guinea, Zimbabwe, Morocco, Côte d’Ivoire and Nigeria.


Nigeria qualified even before kick-off of their match against Benin Republic in Porto Novo, after Lesotho drew 0-0 with Sierra Leone.


The Super Eagles, who host Lesotho in their last game, will now finish top of Group L.


Countries like The Gambia and Comoros that have never played at the tournament before, have benefitted from the decision to expand the AFCON from a 16-team event to one featuring 24 teams.

Israel Adesanya dropped by BMW over rape comments to rival, Kevin Holland

Previous article

“This shows that Ned’s banana is weak” – Regina Daniels dragged for buying Kayanmata worth N5M

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Sports News