2023 Polar Music Prize: Angelique Kidjo pockets $57,700


Legendary Beninese singer-songwriter, Angélique Kidjo, has been announced as a co-recipient of the 2023 Polar Music Prize.

The 62-year-old bagged the prestigious Swedish music award alongside British music executive, Chris Blackwell, and Estonian composer, Arvo Pärt.

The winners will receive a cash award of 600,000 kronor ($57,700) each.

Kidjo becomes only the third African to win the prize, which is awarded annually to individuals, groups and institutions in recognition of exceptional musical achievements.

The first African to win the award was Miriam Makeba of South Africa in 2002, followed by Senegalese singer, Youssou N’Dour in 2013.

Angélique Kidjo is now the most-awarded female artist in Africa, with over 150 laurels, including five Grammys.

Tottenham Manager Antonio Conte Leaves club By ‘mutual Consent’

Previous article

Court cases would not stop hand over to Tinubu – FG

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.