Sports News

Erling Haaland Wins The PFA Men’s Players’ Player Of The Year


Erling Haaland sees off Kevin De Bruyne and Harry Kane to win the Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year award after firing Manchester City to the treble with 52 goals during his incredible debut season

The Norwegian striker has been honoured by his fellow professionals after scoring an astonishing 52 goals last season to help City win the treble. Haaland collected the award at a ceremony at the Lowry Theatre in Manchester after seeing off competition from Harry Kane, who was the second top scorer in the Premier League behind the Norwegian, as well as City team-mates Kevin De Bruyne and John Stones, plus Arsenal duo Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard.

Haaland scored 36 goals in his debut Premier League season, breaking Andy Cole and Alan Shearer’s long-standing record for netting 34 times in the 1993-94 and 1994-95 campaigns, when there were 42 matches rather than 38. He was also top scorer in the Champions League with 12 strikes, as City lifted Europe’s top prize for the first time in their history. Additionally, he helped the Cityzens win the FA Cup and become only the second side in English football to win the treble.

Haaland, 22, was also nominated for the Men’s PFA Players’ Young Player of the Year award but lost out to Saka. The pair were each named in the Premier League Team of Year, alongside the likes of Odegaard, Kane and De Bruyne.


Lagos Ranks 5th Best African City To Live, Work In – Brand Finance City Index

Previous article

Kogi Guber: PDP Rejects N50m Campaign Material Signage Fees

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Sports News